For Vietnamese Travelers, These 4 Countries Now Accept Vietnam’s Vaccine Passport | Vietcetera
Billboard banner
Nov 09, 2021

For Vietnamese Travelers, These 4 Countries Now Accept Vietnam’s Vaccine Passport

The recognition of Vietnam’s vaccine passports by other major destinations is a big step toward outbound tourism recovery.

For Vietnamese Travelers, These 4 Countries Now Accept Vietnam’s Vaccine Passport

Vietnamese nationals or foreigners can now use Vietnam's vaccine passport to travel to certain countries. | Source: Maika Elan for Vietcetera

Vietnam’s vaccine certification, otherwise known as the vaccine passport, has been officially approved by the United States, the United Kingdom, Japan, and Belarus, as announced by Foreign Ministry's deputy spokeswoman Pham Thu Hang last week. 

Vietnamese nationals or foreigners who got their vaccinations in Vietnam can now use the vaccine passport issued by the Vietnamese government to enter these four countries. The decision was finalized in early November, with specific certifications regarding the vaccine types. 

India has also agreed in principle; while China, South Korea, ASEAN countries, and the European Union are also in the process of evaluating and waiting for Vietnam to create a consistent vaccine passport template, Hang announced.

Vietnam, meanwhile, already recognizes COVID-19 vaccine passports from 72 countries and territories. The country is currently discussing with 80 partner countries and territories to accelerate mutual recognition for each other's COVID-19 vaccine certification.

The move comes after Vietnam issued Government’s Resolution No. 128/NQ-CP, changing from “zero COVID” to “safely and flexibly adapting to and effectively controlling the pandemic,” as the first important step toward economic recovery.

Here’s a list of 72 countries and territories whose COVID-19 vaccine certificates and/or recovery documentation Vietnam currently accepts, according to the Consular Department: Belarus, Japan, The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, The United States, Poland, The United Arab Emirates, The Republic of Korea, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Oman, Thailand, Romania, New Zealand, Brazil, Sri Lanka, The Czech Republic, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, Armenia, Germany, Russia, Ireland, Austria, San Marino, Laos, Singapore, Belgium, Spain, Denmark, Italy, Bulgaria, Slovakia, Norway, Sweden, Israel, France, Turkey, Azerbaijan, India, Switzerland, China, Pakistan, Greece, Kuwait, Colombia, The Netherlands, Australia, Finland, Chinese Taipei, Hungary, Cambodia, Algeria, Canada, Indonesia, Nepal, Mexico, Bolivia, Croatia, Portugal, Turkmenistan, Palestine, Qatar, Libya, Egypt, Timor Leste, Ukraine, The Philippines, Malaysia, Luxembourg, Argentina, Jordan, and Brunei Darussalam.

Fully vaccinated visitors from these countries can now enter five of Vietnam’s most popular destinations — Phu Quoc, Nha Trang, Danang, Hoi An and Halong Bay — for a quarantine-free holiday. They will have to present proof of vaccination, a negative RT-PCR test result taken within 72 hours, a fully paid tour and accommodation package and health insurance.